haflinger service parts part numbers? compression?

David bullock

haflinger service parts part numbers? compression?

Post by David bullock »

hey guys im new to the haflinger world, just purchased a late model haflinger in western sydney, it has a spin on style oil filter, was hoping somone knew the part number of it? i work at a automotive spare parts joint so i should be able to cross-refrence most numbers, also condenser and points numbers?

I purchased this beast with the thought that the motor was shot, but it has 135/125 psi on the cylinders, but fouls the plugs, put new leeds n plugs in but they get black preety quick, if i knew the correct compression it should help me figure out if i have a valve or ring issue? any help would be appreciated.
cheers, dave.
AustHaflinger

Re: haflinger service parts part numbers? compression?

Post by AustHaflinger »

I would say your compression was OK - when I got my Haffie it had 115/120psi and ran well and when I rebuilt the engine with a higher compression ratio I had 150psi (currently 150/60 but that is another story). So I think yours is OK.

Tappets close up so set them at .2mm cold (I now set mine at .25mm and all is OK) but they quickly close up.

Plugs do tend to be black but when warm and off chock do not soot up. Get your carby set up with cleaned out jets and idle mixture set, new points and condensor - what is your coil like?? What is spark like? Should be bright and strong. I have a Bosch GT 40 coil (no resistor) fitted and works well and available at any spare parts seller. If the plugs still soot up try one stage hotter.

Also put your location in your profile so it appears to all use use the forum - we have a world wide audience and it helps to understand where people live.

Welcome.

Cheers

Garry
Haflinger 700AP (73)
Range Rover Sport TDV6 (07)
Landrover FC 101 (77)
Landrover Series 1 SWB Station Wagon (57)
Landrover Series 1 SWB (57)
Jaguar E-type Roadster V12 (71)
Jaguar XJ12C (76)
David bullock