Haflinger lacks power

heinkeljb

Haflinger lacks power

Post by heinkeljb »

As all of you know, I have been working on my Haflinger for the past 6 months or so. mostly on hte front hubs which turned into a real marathon.

Prior to my first attempt at an MOT, I had a few issues with the engine not starting and running and traced that to an HT lead going to the right hand spark plug as you look at hte engine from the back of the Haflinger. The HT cable had been eaten by some rodent down to the core!
Anyway, the drive to the MOT station and back was fine as far as the engine and power were concerned.

Now I actually have an MOT and can legally drive it on the roads here I am finding that it revs well in Neutral - it is responsive to the accelerator pedal, BUT when I try and drive it....... It bogs down even in 2nd after you have gone a few meters, if you pump the accelerator pedal in an effort to keep the engine running it will pick up again and drive nicely, but the moment you try to change gear it bogs down again. If you are lucky, you can get it to pick up again and appear to have enough power to drive in 3rd, but it definitely does not like it!

Obviously I have my own theories and possible remedies but I thought I would throw it open to all you guys to see if I am going to cover all the bases.

Just in case the first thought as fuel, it had run down to less than an 8th on the fuel gauge and I have put a couple of gallons of 98 octane in. There is also a fuel filter which might be clogged but it is dark by the time I get back in an evening and it is difficult to tell just using a torch.

So lets have your tips for diagnosing and correcting this issue please.

John
Haflinger 703AP LWB 1973 - (Once owned by Lady Sutherland & Sons.) Now called "Lurch" !

Have you hit the "DONATE" button at the bottom of the page after reading this post? Many thanks if you have!!
Julian B

Re: Haflinger lacks power

Post by Julian B »